About the 11th Circuit

The 11th Circuit covers Alabama, Florida, and Georgia. It has twelve seats, none of which is vacant. Nine judges are male and three are female. One is African American.

Reproductive Rights in the 11th Circuit

Grade: D

The states in the 11th Circuit receive an average grade of D regarding reproductive rights. Alabama, Florida, and Georgia have enacted a variety of laws that impose severe burdens on a woman's reproductive freedom. While over the years courts have struck down some of these onerous restrictions as unconstitutional, the vast majority remain on the books. It will be up to the judges who sit on the 11th Circuit Court to uphold or deny a woman's reproductive rights as they deliberate the constitutionality of these restrictive laws.

NCJW thanks the NARAL Pro-Choice America Foundation for the use of data contained in the "2005 Report Card on Women’s Reproductive Rights" included in Who Decides? The Status of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States, 14th edition, 2005 In this publication, NARAL Pro-Choice America assigned each state and the District of Columbia a letter grade based on the nature of reproductive rights laws in 19 categories. These grades were averaged to offer a general overview of the status of reproductive rights in each circuit.
Pending Nominees to the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals


Judges on the 11th Circuit Court of Appeals

James Larry Edmondson, Chief Judge,
appointed 5/7/86 by President Ronald Reagan

Gerald Bard Tjoflat,
appointed 11/21/75 by President Gerald Ford

R. Lanier Anderson,
appointed 7/13/79 by President Jimmy Carter

Stanley F. Birch, Jr.,
appointed 5/14/90 by President George Bush

Joel Frederick Dubina,
appointed 10/1/90 by President George Bush

Susan Harrell Black,
appointed 8/12/92 by President George Bush

Edward Earl Carnes,
appointed 9/10/92 by President George Bush

Rosemary Barkett,
appointed 4/15/94 by President William Clinton

Frank M. Hull,
appointed 9/18/97 by President William Clinton

Stanley Marcus,
appointed 11/12/97 by President William Clinton

Charles R. Wilson,
appointed 8/9/99 by President William Clinton

William H. Pryor, Jr.,
appointed 02/20/04 by President George W. Bush