About the 10th Circuit

The 10th Circuit covers Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming. It has twelve seats, none of which are vacant. Nine judges are male and three are female. One is Hispanic.

Reproductive Rights in the 10th Circuit

Grade: D+

The states in the 10th Circuit receive an average grade of D+ regarding reproductive rights. New Mexico is the only state in the 10th Circuit that has a relatively good record on choice laws. The laws in Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming impose unnecessarily burdensome obstacles to reproductive freedom, thus restricting a woman's reproductive rights. While over the years courts have struck down some of these onerous restrictions as unconstitutional, the vast majority remain on the books. It will be up to the judges who sit on the 10th Circuit Court to uphold or deny a woman's reproductive rights as they deliberate on the constitutionality of these restrictive laws.

NCJW thanks the NARAL Pro-Choice America Foundation for the use of data contained in the "State-by-State Report Card on Access to Abortion Services" included in Who Decides? A State-by-State Report on the Status of Women's Reproductive Rights, 13th edition, 2004. In this publication, NARAL Pro-Choice America assigned each state and the District of Columbia a letter grade based on the nature of reproductive rights laws in 13 categories. These grades were averaged to offer a general overview of the status of reproductive rights in each circuit.
Pending Nominees to the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals


Judges on the 10th Circuit Court of Appeals

Deanell Reece Tacha, Sr., Chief Judge,
appointed 12/16/85 by President Ronald Reagan

Stephanie K. Seymour,
appointed 11/2/79 by President Jimmy Carter

David Ebel,
appointed 4/20/88 by President Ronald Reagan

Paul J. Kelly, Jr.,
appointed 4/13/92 by President George Bush

Robert H. Henry,
appointed 5/9/94 by President William Clinton

Mary Beck Briscoe,
appointed 5/26/95 by President William Clinton

Carlos Lucero,
appointed 6/30/95 by President William Clinton

Michael Murphy,
appointed 8/14/95 by President William Clinton

Harris L. Hartz,
appointed 12/10/01 by President George W. Bush

Terrence L. O'Brien,
appointed 4/16/02 by President George W. Bush

Michael W. McConnell,
appointed 11/25/02 by President George W. Bush

Timothy M. Tymkovich,
appointed 4/1/03 by President George W. Bush