About the 9th Circuit

The 9th Circuit covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington. It has twenty-eight seats, four of which are vacant. Sixteen judges are male and eight are female. One is African American and four are Hispanic.

Reproductive Rights in the 9th Circuit

Grade: B+

The states in the 9th Circuit receive an average grade of B+ regarding reproductive rights. Laws passed in Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington reflect a mixed legislative record on reproductive rights issues. Alaska, California, Montana, Oregon, and Washington receive some of the highest marks in the nation for protecting choice, while other states on this circuit have enacted legislation severely restricting reproductive freedom. Although courts have struck down some onerous restrictions in these states, many remain on the books. It will be up to the judges who sit on the 9th Circuit Court to uphold or deny a woman's reproductive rights in the face of these challenging legislative obstacles.

NCJW thanks the NARAL Pro-Choice America Foundation for the use of data contained in the "2005 Report Card on Women’s Reproductive Rights" included in Who Decides? The Status of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States, 14th edition, 2005 In this publication, NARAL Pro-Choice America assigned each state and the District of Columbia a letter grade based on the nature of reproductive rights laws in 19 categories. These grades were averaged to offer a general overview of the status of reproductive rights in each circuit.
Pending Nominees to the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

William Myers

Judges on the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

Mary M. Schroeder, Chief Judge,
appointed 9/26/79 by President Jimmy Carter

Harry Pregerson,
appointed 11/2/79 by President Jimmy Carter

Stephen Reinhardt,
appointed 9/11/80 by President Jimmy Carter

Alex Kozinski,
appointed 11/7/85 by President Ronald Reagan

Diarmuid F. O'Scannlain,
appointed 9/26/86 by President Ronald Reagan

Pamela Ann Rymer,
appointed 5/22/89 by President George Bush

Andrew J. Kleinfeld,
appointed 9/16/91 by President George Bush

Michael Daly Hawkins,
appointed 9/15/94 by President William Clinton

Sidney R. Thomas,
appointed 1/4/96 by President William Clinton

Barry G. Silverman,
appointed 2/4/98 by President William Clinton

Susan P. Graber,
appointed 3/19/98 by President William Clinton

M. Margaret McKeown,
appointed 4/8/98 by President William Clinton

Kim McLane Wardlaw,
appointed 8/3/98 by President William Clinton

William A. Fletcher,
appointed 10/9/98 by President William Clinton

Raymond C. Fisher,
appointed 10/12/99 by President William Clinton

Ronald M. Gould,
appointed 11/22/99 by President William Clinton

Richard A. Paez,
appointed 3/14/00 by President William Clinton

Marsha S. Berzon,
appointed 3/16/00 by President William Clinton

Richard C. Tallman,
appointed 5/25/00 by President William Clinton

Johnnie B. Rawlinson,
appointed 9/26/00 by President William Clinton

Richard R. Clifton,
appointed 7/30/02 by President George W. Bush

Jay S. Bybee,
appointed 3/21/03 by President George W. Bush

Consuelo Maria Callahan,
appointed 5/28/03 by President George W. Bush

Carlos T. Bea,
appointed 10/1/03 by President George W. Bush